top of page

Human Sacrifice: The aftermath

It's nearly a month now since the launch of the record, the live show and the art exhibition.

Over a year's worth of work came to fruition on the night. People have seen the band and the artwork and most importantly they have heard the music.

Enough time has now passed to merit some reflection on the whole thing.

I can never emphasise enough how much energy and resources it sapped. When I think back to how my mind was working at numerous stages I am taken aback by how wild and strung out it was. Stress, anxiety...more stress and more anxiety. I can laugh now. There were so many aspects to the whole project and I could have spent even longer on many parts of it; music video, getting more from rehearsals in preparation for the live show and much more.

Everything from the website, logo's, pr campaign, crowdfunding campaign, acquirement of sponsors, blogging, photoshoots, recording studio, cd companies, digital distribution, artwork and not to mention music video was all new to me. All done from scratch.

The plan was to put a foundation in place which can be built on and that certainly is now the case. Getting through all that was intense though. Deadlines all over the place, musicians to round up for various stages, running round the city doing personal visits to show people the tunes in their raw form due to the problems getting everyone in the same room at the same time. Constantly coming home wiped out, the full time job and and part time parent status also requiring resources.

This is not a whinge. It was all worth it (very hard to resist puns on 'sacrifice' here but I will refrai....ah..shit...said it now). Now that I can reflect it's the best thing I could have done at this stage and I'm fuckin proud of it.

The foundation is in place, loads of learning has been done and everything has been accomplished. I have my first record out. Groundwork done for more projects and more releases.

We try not to seek too much approval but when you have put so much into one thing over such a long period of time (you could say this is the result of over 10 years of willing into existence) you want at least some approval. You really do. No two ways about it. Can't be more honest than that. The texts are starting to roll in though, from family, mates, from some people I don't see that often now too, telling me how much they love the record. For some it's their record of the year or one of them.

That will do me.

I had no idea how the tunes would come across. Some of them are over 10 years old but they were chosen carefully for the project.

There has always been an element of frustration at not being able to show the music in its true light with bigger productions in proper studios, full band etc. Now that Its done I am not surprised to hear the surprised tone in peoples remarks...'oh that's how that was supposed to sound!' One mate told of how relieved he was to hear his mates music and it being 'fucking brilliant' because of how awkward it is to say (or not say) your mates tunes are shite.

I will continue to do solo gigs, I do enjoy them and some people prefer acoustic renditions of the tunes but for me the songs deserve more.

Onwards and upwards as they say. To the next record, the next project.

Bracing myself...but know it will be worth it.

Right now i the planning, creative, thinking stage and there's no rush.

You can download the record from iTunes HERE

Or buy a physical copy from my website

Happy listening and see you soon

David


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page