top of page

Crowdfunding - a cathartic experience?

On the whole, my first attempt at crowdfunding has been a real eye opener. It's the epitome of an experience that contains highs and lows.

It's never easy asking people you know for money. There's a definite...well...humiliation that comes with it. It spurns lots of head talk about what people think about what you're doing!

For independent artists like myself however there doesn't appear to be many better options.

I am hoping this project - my first record release with all my own work - is the foundation for my own music business. A business where I make, release and promote my music by myself.

There has never been a better time to do it, with all the necessary tools at our disposal and the demise of the traditional music industry.

I always remember seeing one of my old favourite bands Cast doing their comeback album on the back of crowdfunding - the first time i'd seen it - and thinking what a great idea it was. You help them with the project by pre-ordering the cd you would have bought upon release anyway. Very simple, and in their case very effective. They had a sizeable fanbase still in existence. For me however, just starting out, without sizeable fanbase it's a bit different. You are relying on friends, family and people that hopefully like you or your music in some way. Without any prior releases that's a tough ask. No real track record. In my case, lugging the acoustic guitar round to gigs and open mics was the only real access people had to my musical vision which if it succeeds the way I want will render acoustic renditions mere bonus material and perhaps mere trivialities.

For me to get the vision out there requires some sort of foothold and it's a bit like catch 22. You can't get the following without a real release and some live shows but you need a following to back you to get the record made.

So, crowdfunding is a risk. If it fails, the project fails. Me personally, and I'm guessing others too have had to find reserves of confidence in myself and my music which may have been lying dormant. At times you think of jacking it in rather than repeatedly whore your self to those you know. However it has taken about 8 years and many failures with band line ups to get to this point and there's no way I could throw in the towel. It has to be done.

So putting all thoughts of insecurity aside, the campaign continues and along the way some genuine acts of kindness and support, a lot of the time from sources I never would have expected have been enough to buoy me and sustain the project. Some people just blow your mind with their generosity. It's truly humbling.

I hazily remember having seen a TV programme some years ago where a fella chose to follow in the footsteps of St Francis of Assisi, to renounce all worldly items and possessions and go on the road hoping that people's kindness will come to the rescue. I can hear some thoughts already...'selfish!' 'bum! scrounging off others! what if everyone did that?' That's missing the point however. The end goal is not to receive from others without having to do anything. At all. The end point is to undergo an experience of humility, where you putting yourself as 'less than' everyone you meet. It's the ultimate in ego-shattering. People with the feisty comments ought to try it. It's not something you would choose in order to gain 'on the sly'. It's far too humiliating for that. It's a short passage to your lowest ebb but along the way, in this fella's case certainly, the acts of genuine love and kindness were enough to catalyse his faith in humanity and the unknown. I won't mention the 'G' word, but thats what he may have called it.

I am not making too much of a link between his case and mine - mine has nowhere near the level of drama, painful destruction of ego and intensity of experience in the form of an epiphany. My experience is all these things in some way

but to a much lesser degree.

Even so, I have felt humbled and yes a bit sensitive in the ego department too. I have also found new reserves of self belief throughout the process. There is greater desire to see the project through no matter what.

And so, demons now case aside (errr..mostly) if you want to support this project; 'Human Sacrifice' ep by David Barnicle & The Mystery Force, then just visit the website and have a look at the options. Your help is really going a long way.

Whoever knew something something so 'ego-driven' as crowdfunding could have such an effect on the spirit?

Due respect to all others who try it. And good luck of course.

David

P.S. Here's what will be something of a remnant very soon - acoustic version of Twin Star


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page